top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarren Tanaka

Walking the Talk (November 18-24, 2019)

As a librarian I am naturally drawn to project-based learning because it mirrors what we do in real life. Project-based learning, as defined by pblworks.org, “requires students to work on a project over an extended period of time that engages them in solving a real-world problem or answering a complex question. They demonstrate their knowledge and skills by creating a public product or presentation for a real audience.“


This past week I had several personal projects that fit this definition.


My new band!

On Friday my musician friends got together for a first for band rehearsal. It was the first time we all got together to play the songs we have been learning individually for several months. Now we are positioning ourselves for our first public performance.


Last-minute art project!


On Saturday, I finished a small art project for my son that was announced a few weeks ago. I made a plan, got the supplies from the art store, and worked on it a bit each day. Today, it will be publicly displayed at his school fundraiser.



And then on Sunday I completed a half marathon trail run with the objective of beating my time and pace from last year. It took many months of careful training and nutrition to prepare for the race, and yesterday I did it! I shaved off 20 minutes from my total run time, and improved my overall pace by about 2 minutes. That’s a VERY public display.


So how does this translate into something useful to my students? As a teacher, I feel a strong need to walk the talk, and to experience what I am expecting my students to experience. If I am asking them to set a goal, I need to have goals myself. If I ask them to struggle with new and difficult things, then I should also struggle. And if I ask them to publicly share what they learned I should also share.


But that’s what we as adults do anyway, right? Whether it be a birthday party or a home renovation project or some other personal milestones, don’t we set goals and deadlines? Then make decisions and take action? And when it’s done don’t we publicly tell her our friends and family what we did? It may be in the form of a holiday newsletter once a year, or a social media post, but we all do it.


Last week my students and I made some progress on our Accelerated Reading goals, and our individual PBLs. Pre-K and K students enjoyed a gratitude story and a retelling of the historic first Thanksgiving.

Grade 1 learned about the Native American “3 Sisters” legend and planting method. Grade 2 made progress on their monk seal artwork.


We also did a bit of practice with music teacher, Mr Lopes, to prepare for the upcoming winter concert.



As part of the Wellness Committee, my teacher friends and I hosted a refreshing and health smoothie treat for our faculty meeting.

——

This coming week we are looking for forward to making progress on our Accelerated Reader goals, Grade 4 kalo growing project, kindergarten/grade 1 Thanksgiving read-aloud, and planning for musical classes with percussionist Michael Wall.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page