top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarren Tanaka

"Talking Story" with authors and librarians

When I was a kid, I fondly remember family gatherings where we all just shared what was going on with us, and asked our cousins and aunties/uncles what's going on with them. Lots of stuff I didn't really understand, but it made me feel like I belonged.


These days, with so much time spent staring at a screen, sometimes I feel like the art of just talking story is lost. My sons often impatiently wait for my talk story sessions with my friends to end. But to me, that's when the true human connection happens.


Last week, Mrs. Mitchell (PCNC extraordinaire) and I had the privilege of hosting "A Monster Like Me" author Wendy Swore. We had the usual necessary conversation about the space she'd be presenting in, the minutia of audio-visual technology, and a little bit about the audience. And then we got to talk story.


While in the library, she noticed the giant Calvin Coconut painting I did, and we talk about how author Graham Salisbury wrote the entire series about a boy growing up in Kailua. Wendy shared that she is in the planning stages of a book that will be set in Laie! We exchanged contact information and asked if I would be willing to help her with reference photos, anecdotes, and other tidbits to add that "locals only" perspective. Of course I agreed. We talked story some more, about our children and what life is like where we live. It turns out that she has a third degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do! My son is a recommended first degree black belt, so martial arts became a fun conversation topic. Then she launched into a fantastic presentation encouraging our students to be that unexpected but desperately needed friend to someone.


On Friday, I attended an all-day meeting/workshop with other school librarians in our district. Each session got us thinking about our unique school community and comparing our experiences. We were encouraged and relieved to find that we are similar in many unexpected ways. The highlight of the day was simply talking story with one another about what's going on, where we are headed, and what we'd like to accomplish. It was a really good day.


We all have great stories to share. We are the protagonist in our very unique narrative that's happening right now. What do you see and hear? Where is it all taking place? How does it make you feel? What's remarkable/amazing/surprisingly good? What's junk? How could things be improved and celebrated? What is the message that needs to be shared with the world and must be told by you?


Talk story with the people you meet and see what's revealed. I think there's the makings of a great story right there!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page